I’m ready to be honest.

Not that I have been necessarily dishonest. But I am ready to be fully open. Exposing the core of my being.

The truth is, I am a Christian. Okay, okay- so this might not be some big, breaking news. But, I have always felt the need to protect this intimate facet of my being out of a fear of non-acceptance. I cannot pinpoint where/when/why/how I established this fear. But it has been abolished.

“But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to every one who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect.” 1 Peter 3:15

You see, I have committed my heart to Christ. It is through this relationship (friendship) and the continual outpouring of God’s graceful love that I work to establish my life in joy-filled hope. Through the past few years of growing intimately in my faith, I am now called to share more openly. Its the story of my heart.

“And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” Romans 5:5

Many, many times people have recounted my continual optimism for life and its possibilities. It is through the bold assurance of our future destiny, based on God’s love story through all time, that I found this viewpoint. And I deeply desire for all people to share in this vision and the faith, hope, and love that is supports all of us.

By not opening up this chamber of my heart, I realized that I was limiting the power and reach of God through my story. Whoops. God is already at work in every life and I want to participate in that- because it is truly amazing. There is more to come about this journey, but I hope this “confession” is a great starting point to encourage us all to connect on new levels.

May we all grow in courage.

Leave a Reply

